With this Yoga Hand, I eat Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

by heartEdu

Nathan and I met up with Bean and Miana for a beautiful 1.5 hour hike at Mosquito Creek this afternoon. This hike included sliding down the side of a mountain (on unpaved path…in my sneakers), crossing moving water, and climbing up a steep mountain that made me feel like as though a disco inferno was happening in my glutes, hammies, and quads. There was John Travolta action happening in those muscles – white jumper, greased hair and all.

To encourage me on this hike, Bean and Miana would say, “My mom did this hike.” Miana’s mom is retired and a senior. That just made me feel…old? Nope, that cliche does not work here.

Clockwise from top: Heritage Tree, Moving Water, View after the Hike, tiniest Pine cone ever!

Clockwise from top: Heritage Tree, Moving Water, View after the Hike, tiniest Pine cone ever!

There were plenty of Heritage Trees on this hike. Heritage Trees in BC are trees that are a hundred years of age or older and are protected from being chopped. It’s like The Untouchables, but less mafia, and more trees. From the looks of these beauties, they were older than 100. This tree grew AROUND a boulder. Who does that? This tree does!

IMG_0435

This tree grew around a boulder. This tree gives zero futz!

At a point where Bean was taking gorgeous photos of waterfalls (I will see if I can post them later), Miana and I were getting our yoga on. She took a pretty epic shot of me in my exalted warrior and warrior 2.

hiking and warriors

It’s epic because of where the sun hits on my leg. It’s also epic because in the first pic, my hand looks like it’s saying: “With this hand, I eat grilled cheese sandwiches and burgers!”

