I’m so buff, I can’t even wear a shirt!

by heartEdu

Beautiful day for a run today! It was a windy and 8 degrees celsius (felt like 6 degrees). I love running when it’s windy. I am liberated by the feeling where I can feel the wind blowing at me when both my feet are in the air for that split second in between steps. Despite the wind, because the sun was beaming down by the harbour, I knew it was a good time to run in merely shorts, tank, and arm warmers.

Docked boats sunbathing

Docked boats sunbathing

I often get asked, “Why the armwarmers and tank? Why not just wear a long sleeve tee?” Really, I’m so buff that I can’t even wear a shirt. Haaa. Just joking. I like that I can peel them off quickly if I get too warm (which was the case with this run today).

I wear these beauties

I wear these beauties

I was given a whacked lecture about wearing so little by another runner who was wearing three layers and tights. But honestly, I have awesome circulation. You know in the dead of winter, when your toes are frigid when you crawl into bed? I can warm up in 5 minutes or less. I count it as a blessing until Nathan sticks his icicle toes on my calves. I jump up 10 feet, but succumb because he says it was in the wedding vows. (It really wasn’t).

I must say, I am likely the reason that Vancouver is the third worst dressed city in the world. If a reporter were to spot me, they would wonder why I was wearing a clash of colours and patterns. Really, I’m wearing neutrals. If I run fast enough, orange, turquoise, red, and gray mix to become a brown blur. Stripes and plaid won’t even matter! In reality, I don’t want to get hit by a car, …and would like to be able to frighten bears…and tourists.

IMG_0562

8 degree windy weather also did not bother my running buddy

We stepped up the pace and the distance this time around. When we finished our run and stopped, I honestly felt fine. Until we ran into a coworker who stopped to ask us about our run. I leaned over, thought to myself, “For the love of Lululemon, don’t puke on this poor girl’s boots!” I got over the nausea quickly after hanging my head down between my knees.

All in all, it was an awesome 5.91km run (says 6km because I forgot to turn it off, and you probably want to knock 4 or 5 minutes off that time).

run mar18

When I got home, I stir-fried some veggies and tofu. Had it on a bed of brown rice.

Veggie and Tofu Stir Fry

Veggie and Tofu Stir Fry

Nathan thought it was delicious. I can’t take credit for the sauce. That’s the magic of Trader Joe’s Soyaki Sauce.

